It is very obvious that our Facebook accounts are not safe after the reports of Cambridge Analytica using Facebook user information came to light. Allegations reveal that Cambridge Analytica misused the data of 50 million Facebook users to influence the US Presidential election in 2016 in favour of Donald Trump.

Facebook is accused of failing to properly inform users that their profile information may have been obtained and kept by Cambridge Analytica, a data firm widely-credited with helping Donald Trump win the 2016 US presidential election, reveals the BBC. But both Cambridge Analytica and Facebook have denied any wrongdoing, even though Facebook had already blocked Cambridge Analytica from Facebook while it investigated claims the  firm did not delete data that was allegedly obtained using methods that were in violation of Facebook’s policies.

This has left Facebook founder and chief executive Mark Zuckerberg facing intensified calls from politicians in the US and UK to appear in person at investigations into the social network’s conduct and explain how data on millions of its users was exploited.

With all of these going on, people have began to urge others to either #DeleteFacebook (that is, deleting your Facebook account completely) or #BoyCottFacebook (that is, moving on from Facebook to another social media network like how we moved from Myspace to Facebook). But the question is; Is leaving Facebook the only way to protect your data? Or are there other ways to protect your data on Facebook? Well BridleTech has been able to gather some impressive tips on how your data on Facebook can be provided.  Below are some few tips:

According to The BBC, it is important to;

1. Keep an eye on apps, especially those which require you to log in using your Facebook account – they often have a very wide range of permissions and many are specifically designed to pick up your data

2. Use an ad blocker to limit advertising

3. Look at your Facebook security settings and make sure you are aware of what is enabled. Check the individual app settings to see whether you have given them permission to view your friends as well as yourself.

4. You can download a copy of the data Facebook holds on you, although it is not comprehensive. There is a download button at the bottom of the General Account Settings tab. However bear in mind that your data may be less secure sitting on your laptop than it is on Facebook’s servers, if your device is hacked.